top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureYu Qian

KENOPSIA

Updated: May 8, 2019

n. the eerie, forlorn atmosphere of a place that’s usually bustling with people but is now abandoned and quiet—a school hallway in the evening, an unlit office on a weekend, vacant fairgrounds—an emotional afterimage that makes it seem not just empty but hyper-empty, with a total population in the negative, who are so conspicuously absent they glow like neon signs.

Never a huge fan of long-distance traveling or someone who gets homesickness every now and then, I don't go home on weekends often unlike most of my friends.


This leaves me to be on my own on campus during weekends. It doesn't bother me much because I do enjoy the flexibility of time and space I have all to myself. I need not make myself available for people and I need not share common spaces with crowds. (p/s: I tend to get anxious and hypersensitive in crowded spaces)


To me, staying on campus over the weekends is like having a getaway and break from my disorganized student life. Without all the people and hustle, I get to appreciate and see the campus in a different light - a calm beautiful place surrounded by lush foliage. It's fascinating to see how the normally busy and packed campus transforms itself entirely into an obverse image of itself as the night falls on weekends.


The campus on a weekend night is the perfect epitome of solitude and stillness, resembling absolutely nothing like its usual daytime image.


The campus is likened to a ghost town. The cafeteria and classrooms are vacant, the walkway strangely seems darker and longer than usual and there stood the lonely piano in the common leisure room... There aren't any other waking people on campus except for the night-shift convenience store staff. The campus is ceased of noises except for some occasional dog barks, meows and cricket chirpings.


How peculiar, isn't it? The night seems to adds some eeriness of stillness to everything on Earth.


The campus looks nothing like the campus bustling with life and energy that I normally know.

It's eerily beautiful but lonely.

Has the campus always been like that?



64 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page