top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureYu Qian

CHRYSALISM

Updated: Apr 29, 2019

n. the amniotic tranquility of being indoors during a thunderstorm, listening to waves of rain pattering against the roof like an argument upstairs, whose muffled words are unintelligible but whose crackling release of built-up tension you understand perfectly.



I love it when it rains.


Afternoon showers, particularly the ones on weekends are probably one of my favorite things. All bundled up, I could spend hours sitting by the window with a cup of hot drinks or a good book in my hands as I fully immerse myself in the admiration of the rain and thunderstorms. There's something so insanely tranquil about staying indoors during stormy weather. In the embrace of rain and thunderstorms, I find comfort and security.

The earthy smell of the air after a light shower; the soft rhythmic pitter-patter of the heavy raindrops on roofs; the gentle whispers of cool breeze... They all remind me of home, a space symbolizing safety and peace.

A powerful form of therapy and healing in and of itself, the exposure to elements of nature is proven to improve one's emotional and physical wellbeing. Such restorative power held by nature is reflected in raining as rainwater does not only wash away the dirt on the earth but also the very sorrows and worries of human beings.

Staying far away from home and nature itself, rain is the closest elemental comfort that I could revel in. The steady thrums of rain on the windows and thunders never fail to keep me calm and comforted when I'm stressed out and anxious. The melody of rain and thunder is a lullaby to my distress and blues.

Maybe it’s the white noise and solitude that comes with it, but there’s just something about rainy weather that highlights and captures that particular slight tinge of serenity amidst booming thunderstorms... Perhaps it's the striking difference illustrating a tranquility one relishes in a safe cozy space contrasting a beautiful disarrayed work of nature taking place beyond that enclosed bubble...


Rainy days are simply comforting.


The Oleka: Onism Playlist video was produced to (re-)create a picture of my ideal 'chrysalism' - enjoying the melody of rain sounds and thunders with a few of my favourite (K-pop) instrumental music playing in the background indoors.


37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page